Back to the top

A Link to the Brass Presskit



Album Title: A Link to the Brass
Artist: The Game Brass
Album release date: November 21, 2021


After three years, five albums, and thousands of screaming brass quintet fans, video game music supergroup The Game Brass is proud to announce its latest, greatest, most unusual project: A Link to the Brass.

This new project is a track-for-track, note-for-note cover of Koji Kondo’s legendary score for The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past for Super Famicom/Super NES. Every grand call to adventure, every moody dungeon ambience, has been captured and recreated in its entirety by some of the finest brass players in the VGM world. The result is a stunning, stirring, staggering tour de force that’ll have you hearing this all-time great soundtrack in a whole new light.

And in a bold first (at least, as far as we know), every Bandcamp purchase of A Link to the Brass includes an MSU-1 audio enhancement patch in addition to the high-definition audio files.

An MSU-1 patch is a media enhancement patch that lets users bring CD-quality audio into old video games. Any interested party could use the MSU-1 patch to import the new brass soundtrack into their favorite classic games. (This music may make more sense with some games than others. For legal reasons, The Game Brass offers no opinions on that matter. No ROMs are included with purchase.)

Experience classic gaming in a whole new light with this lush brass orchestration of one of gaming’s most revered soundtracks.

The Game Brass is a video game music ensemble made of a core septet of regular performers and an extensive network of friends. For this album, the core group has gone back to basics for a focused, but rich performance. The album features:

John Robert Matz – Trumpet, Piccolo Trumpet, Flugelhorn, and a little Horn
Robby Duguay – Trumpet, Flugelhorn, and a teensy bit of Horn
Danny Flam – Horn
John Stacy – Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, Percussion
Daniel Romberger – Trombone
Alex Hill – Tuba
Thomas Kresge – Production, Mixing, Mastering, Trumpet

For this project, Duguay went through the original SPC data to create faithful transcriptions, and then Kresge took those notes and fleshed them out into the arrangements you’ll hear on the album.

Romberger created arrangements as well, and also crafted the MSU-1 file that will let you import the soundtrack directly into any games you may own.



  1. Title Theme (0:17)
  2. Beginning of the Journey (0:56)
  3. Seal of the Seven Maidens (1:50)
  4. Time of the Falling Rain (0:54)
  5. Hyrule Castle (2:48)
  6. Princess Zelda’s Rescue (1:31)
  7. Safety in the Sanctuary (1:04)
  8. Hyrule Field Main Theme (1:27)
  9. Kakariko Village (3:05)
  10. Guessing-Game House (0:46)
  11. Fortune Teller (0:44)
  12. The Soldiers of Kakariko Village (0:41)
  13. Dank Dungeons (0:51)
  14. Lost Ancient Ruins (2:00)
  15. Anger of the Guardians (0:30)
  16. Great Victory! (0:12)
  17. The Silly Pink Rabbit! (0:51)
  18. Lost Woods (0:43)
  19. Unsealing the Master Sword (0:13)
  20. Priest of the Dark Order (1:00)
  21. Dark World (2:06)
  22. Death Mountain (1:41)
  23. Dungeon of Shadows (1:34)
  24. Meeting the Maidens (1:03)
  25. Fairy Fountain (0:56)
  26. The Priest Transforms into Ganon (0:05)
  27. Ganon’s Message (1:03)
  28. Battle with Ganon (1:09)
  29. Triforce Chamber (1:29)
  30. Epilogue ~ Beautiful Hyrule (3:51)
  31. Staff Roll (3:55)